Contact Information

For more information contact us at



The United Arab Emirates is a country located in the southeast end of the Arabian Peninsula on the Persian Gulf, bordering Oman to the east and Saudi Arabia to the south, as well as sharing sea borders with Qatar and Iran.

The UAE has a federal court system. There are three main branches within the court structure: civil, criminal and Sharia law. The UAE's judicial system is derived from the civil law system and Sharia law. In addition to specific legal legislation which covers agencies, company law, labor law, and intellectual property, the UAE has enacted civil and commercial codes.

There are three primary sources of UAE law, namely federal laws and decrees (applicable in all emirates), local laws (laws and regulations enacted by the individual emirates), and Sharia’h (Islamic law).

Intellectual Property Laws:

  • Federal Law No. 37 of 1992 on Trademarks amended by Law No. 19 of 2000 and Law No. 8 of 2002 (1992)
  • Federal Law No. 40 of 1992 on the Protection of Intellectual Works and copyright (1992)
  • Federal Law No. 44 of 1992 for Organizing and Protection of Industrial Property for Patents, Designs and Industrial Models

Major Treaty Membership

  • Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works (July 14, 2004)
  • WIPO Copyright Treaty (July 14, 2004)
  • Patent Cooperation Treaty (March 10, 1999)
  • Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property (September 19, 1996)
  • Convention Establishing the World Intellectual Property Organization (September 24, 1974)
  • Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances .
  • Marrakesh Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works for Persons Who Are Blind, Visually Impaired or Otherwise Print Disabled ...
  • WIPO Performances and Phonograms Treaty (June 9, 2005)
  • Rome Convention for the Protection of Performers, Producers of Phonograms and Broadcasting Organizations (January 14, 2005)


Countries of Representation and IP Information